Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

Center of Innovation for Complex Chronic Healthcare

Menu
Menu

Quick Links

Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My healthevet badge
EBenefits Badge
 

CINCCH Investigators

The Center of Innovation for Complex Chronic Health Care is a nucleus for a dynamic group of health services research professionals who share a common mission. CINCCH core investigators have academic appointments at one of our affiliated universities.

The CINCCH Investigators are listed below with their e mails, and research interests.

Leadership

Kevin Stroupe, PhD, Acting Director of CINCCH

Kevin.Stroupe@va.gov

Research Interests: Computational statistics, cost-effectiveness analysis, pharmacoeconomics, economic analysis, health policy analysis

View biosketch

Our Leadership Team

Saul Weiner, MD, Deputy Director CINCCH
 

Saul.Weiner@va.gov

Research Interests: Clinical decision-making, patient-centered care, contextual error, contextualizing care, and direct methods of studying the clinical encounter including unannounced standardized patients and patient-collected audio.

View biosketch 

Howard S. Gordon, MD, Assistant Director CINCCH at Jesse Brown VAMC (JBVAMC),  Site Lead Womens Health Practice Based Research Network (WH PBRN) at JBVAMC, Co-chair, IRB, JBVAMC, Professor of Medicine, University of Illinois at Chicago 

Howard.Gordon2@va.gov

Research Interests: Physician-patient communication, patient-centered communication, health disparities, health informatics

View biosketch 

Bridget M. Smith, PhD, MPA

Bridget.Smith@va.gov

Research Interests: Cost-effectiveness analysis, pharmacoeconomics, spinal cord injury and rehabilitation, statistical methods, health economics, affordable care act

View biosketch 

Charlesnika T. Evans, PhD, MPH, Co-PI QUERI CARRIAGE

Charlesnika.Evans@va.gov

Research Interests: Adult immunizations, databases, epidemiology, infectious disease, observational studies, patient outcomes, pharmacoepidemiology and adverse drug events, practice patterns, statistical methodology, treatment outcome, spinal cord injury, infection, antimicrobial resistance

View biosketch 

Investigators

David Bentrem, MD, MS

David.Bentrem@va.gov

Research Interests: Cancer, patient safety, quality assurance, health care - quality of health care, surgery

View Biosketch

Elly Budiman-Mak, MD, MPH, MS

Elly.Mak@va.gov

Research Interests: Clinical epidemiology, obesity, outcomes assessment (health care), rheumatic disease

View biosketch

Lisa Burkhart PhD, RN

Elizabeth.Burkhart@va.gov

Research Interests: interprofessional collaborative practice, community health, preventive care

View Biosketch

Bella Etingen, PhD, MA

Bella.Etingen@va.gov

Research Interests: patient-centered care, novel treatment options for behavioral health care, employee engagement, spinal cord injury, Veteran engagement in research

View biosketch

Michael Fischer, MD MSPH

Michael.Fischer3@va.gov

Research Interests: Clinical epidemiology, nephrology, patient outcomes, resource use and cost of VA care, treatment outcome, chronic kidney disease, disparities, depression, quality of life, geriatrics

View biosketch

Margaret Fitzpatrick, MD

Margaret.Fitzpatrick@va.gov

View biosketch

Dustin French, PhD

Dustin.French2@va.gov

Research Interests: Adverse drug events, drug therapy, medication adherence, medication compliance, safety

View biosketch

Marylou Guihan, PhD

Marylou.Guihan@va.gov

Research Interests: Behavioral change, diffusion of innovation, long term care, organization and management, pressure ulcers, spinal cord injury, self-care

View biosketch 

Neil Jordan, PhD, MS

Neil.Jordan@va.gov

Research Interests: Chronic illness, comorbidity, mental health, health care policy, health services research, cost-effectiveness analysis, budget impact analysis

View biosketch 

Carol Kostovich, PhD, RN

Carol.Kostovich@va.gov

Research Interests: Nursing care, nursing presence, caring, patient-centered care, health outcomes, instrument development, teaching-learning strategies, simulation

View biosketch

Sherri LaVela, PhD, MPH, MBA, PhD Post-doctoral Fellowship Director

Sherri.LaVela@va.gov

Research Interests: Disability studies, health promotion and disease prevention, chronic disease prevalence and multiple-morbidity in persons with disabilities, gerontology, aging with a disability, primary health care, patient-centered care, patient preferences, patient-reported outcomes, patient experience, evidence-based medicine, spinal cord injury and rehabilitation, informal caregiving and family support, family-centered care, infectious disease, spinal cord injury

View biosketch 

Karen Saban, PhD, RN

Karen.Saban@va.gov

Research Interests: Anxiety, cardiovascular diseases, caregiving, cross-cultural comparison, health behavior, health outcomes, social support, stroke, epigenetics, mindfulness, inflammation

View biosketch 

Abigail Silva, PhD

Abigail.Silva@va.gov

Research Interests: Health equity, health care access, cancer care quality and outcomes

View biosketch

Katie Suda, PharmD, MS

Katie.Suda@va.gov

Research Interests: Health outcomes, practice patterns, infectious disease, pharmacoepidemiology and adverse drug events

View biosketch 

Elizabeth Tarlov, PhD, RN

Elizabeth.Tarlov@va.gov

Research Interests: Cancer prevention, care and control, demography, health care policy, obesity, CAPriCORN, environment, dual use, databases

View biosketch 

Frances M. Weaver, PhD

Frances.Weaver@va.gov

Research Interests: Health-related outcomes, patient-centered care, new care delivery models, Parkinson's disease, spinal cord injury, health care outcomes

View biosketch


updated 7-31-19